Hadestown Musical :)

I went to see Hadestown the musical with my Mum last weekend and I absolutely loved it! It was such a clever musical and I loved the characters of Hermes and Persephone. Something that I used to do is write a blog post about some of my favourite songs and lyrics whenever I went to see a new musical so I thought that I would bring that back with this musical 🙂

Favourite songs:

  • Road to Hell
  • Come Home with Me
  • Wedding Song
  • Way Down Hadestown
  • When the chips are down
  • Wait for Me
  • Flowers
  • Promises
  • Wait for me (Reprise)

Favourite lyrics/Quotes

  • See, Orpheus was a poor boy But he had a gift to give: He could make you see how the world could be, In spite of the way that it is
  • Cuz here’s the thing, to know how it ends and still begin to sing, as if it might turn out this time. I learned that from a friend of mine
  • No the dog you really gotta dread is the one that howls inside your head, it’s him whose howling drives men mad and a mind to its undoing
  • Say that you’ll hold me forever, Say that the wind won’t change on us
  • Don’t promise me fair sky above. Don’t promise me kind road below. Just walk beside me love, anyway the wind blows
  • If no one takes too much, there will always be enough
  • I’m coming, Wait for me, I hear the walls repeating, The falling of our feet and it sounds like drumming and we are not alone. I hear the rocks and stones echoing our song. I’m coming.
  • Once upon a time there was a railway line
  • A song so beautiful it brings the world back into tune. Back into Time. And all the flowers will bloom.
  • Way Way down Hadestown, Way down under the ground.
  • To the world we dream about, and the one we live in now.

Let me know if you have any suggestions for my next theatre trip and if you have seen Hadestown what you thought and your favourite song 🙂

xxxxxxxxxxx

3 thoughts on “Hadestown Musical :)

  1. Well, I also love Hadestown- a huge reason why belonged to the fact that is based off of Greek Mythology. In addition, loved the songs, set, and had some of the best lighting (especially during “Wait For Me”

    Liked by 1 person

      1. One of the reasons why I got fascinated by Hadestown- so glad it toured to Charlotte in 2022 (when I saw it)

        Yes, it is coming back this year- but not the right timing (too close to when I am traveling to Ireland/Scotland)

        Like

Leave a comment