My Top 20 Musicals :)

I am not afraid to admit that I am a major Musical Theatre nerd…………. With that in mind I thought I would list my favourite Musicals 🙂

  1. Wicked- This was the first West End Musical I can remember seeing and ever since it has been my favourite because it was the one which ignited my love of theatre 🙂 I remember the power of the perfomers voices and the breathtaking scenary and costumes like it was yesterday- I often find myself singing along to Defying Gravity walking the dog ❤
  2. Matilda
  3. Legally Blonde
  4. West Side Story
  5. Mamma Mia
  6. Bend It Like Beckham
  7. Made in Dagenham
  8. Shrek the Musical
  9. Billy Elliot
  10. Aladdin
  11. Rocky Horror Picture Show
  12. Hairspray
  13. Funny Girl
  14. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  15. Miss Saigon
  16. Oliver
  17. The Wizard of Oz
  18. The Lion King
  19. Grease
  20. In The Heights

There are many other West End and Broadway shows that are still on my Musical Theatre Bucket List including: Les Miserables, Hamilton, The Phantom of the Opera, Guys and Dolls, Dreamgirls, Chicago and Kinky Boots!!  I might make an updated version once I have seen a few more shows 🙂 xxx

I have also made a Musical Theatre Playlist on Spotify which can be found here: https://open.spotify.com/user/gtbeauty5/playlist/5RuhqvSNhm2QMTjwxN3isa

Let me know which West End/Broadway show is your favourite in the comments below

xxxxxxxxxx

19/Female/London

Social Media Links:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gracethoroughgood/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/gtbeauty5

13 thoughts on “My Top 20 Musicals :)

  1. I am a massive Les Mis fan. For the #1 spot, Les Mis and Wicked are tied. I get a more relatable, theatrical experience with Wicked. I tell people that Wicked is my favorite musical comedy when people ask me which of the two is better. I cannot relate to another musical character as much as I can relate to Elphaba. Wicked was the first show I saw on Broadway and saw it three other times and it just continues to get better and better and always been spectacular. I feel like it sparked my love for musical and pushed it in the right direction.

    As for Les Mis, I have a more emotional and inspirational experience. I even have a deep obsession for the musical. I have researched the musical so much from Victor Hugo to time period to the musical itself. I am more emotionally connected to Les Mis then Wicked. I also care about the characters even more in this one even though I relate to Elphaba more then any of the Les Mis characters. Les Mis just has this incredible passionate soaring nature that makes you truly care about the characters.

    I will not be able to pick between the two. The two are apples and oranges in everything. One is this magical, fantasy, dance/spectacle-filled, more relatable, musical comedy and the other is the more epic, powerful, empathetic, inspirational musical tragedy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think wicked will always have a special place in my heart because it’s the first show I saw on the West End however I do love Les Mis as well ❤️❤️I haven’t seen it in the theatre yet unfortunately but I have seen the film and have listened to the soundtrack many times 🙂 xx

      Like

  2. I happen to love musicals as well since I don’t live close to NYC I don’t get to see them enough. However, when they are in my area where I live, I always try to see them. I love that more of the shows are coming to television. I recently watched Hairspray live when it aired on tv.

    Like

Leave a Reply

