February 2017 Favourites <3

Movies:

The Maze Runner- I personally have never read The Maze Runner book series however I am a big fan of Harry Potter, Divergent and the Hunger Games so despite not knowing an awful lot about the story I decided to watch the first Maze Runner movie as I had heard good things about it πŸ™‚ I thoroughly enjoyed it and it filled the teenage action movie hole in my heart left by those other series πŸ™‚ The story follows Thomas,  who awakens with no memory of who he is, only to learn he’s been delivered to the middle of an maze, along with a number of other boys, who have been trying to find their way out of the ever-changing labyrinth.


Almost Adults- As soon as I saw the trailer for this movie I knew I wanted to see it as it has the actresses from Carmilla in it! The film focuses on Cassie and Mackenzie and the strain on their friendship that occurs when one deals with her newfound sexuality and the other with breaking up with her long term boyfriend. The two girls are absolute goals and the film had me shouting at my computer many times either in frustration or happiness πŸ™‚


Tv Shows:

Gilmore Girls- I heard a lot of people raving about the revival of Gilmore Girls and telling me to watch it however I had never watched the original series so decided one day to watch the first episode of the original and see if I enjoyed it- I WAS HOOKED!! I was watching it every spare second I had which probably wasn’t the best thing for my grades but I didn’t care! Some days I would binge-watch up to 10 episodes which is a ridiculous amount of episodes to watch I’m aware but I couldn’t help it πŸ™‚ The show follows Lorelai Gilmore who had her daughter Rory Gilmore when she was just 16! The show follows the family relationships of the Gilmore girls and also the friendships and romantic relationships of all the people of their little town of Stars Hollow πŸ™‚ I was a Lorelai and Luke shipper and my favourite relationship of Rory’s was Logan although the relationship which really flourishes in the show if the mother-daughter relationship of Rory and Lorelai which I found refreshing πŸ™‚


Youtubers:

Lucy Moon- My friend sent me a video of Lucy’s a while back and it really stuck with me so I decided to check out her channel and some of her other/older videos and I am happy to say that all of her videos had this effect on me πŸ™‚ After watching a Lucy Moon video I am always inspired and asking myself who I want to be and what I can do to improve my life πŸ™‚ Lucy does videos about: Feminism, self-love and music with a few vlog’s as well πŸ™‚


Books:

Holding Up The Universe- This has been in my recommended list on my Kindle since it came out so when I was looking for new books this one immediately stood out πŸ™‚ I read it within about two days in-between binge watching Gilmore girls :p This book focuses on two people: Libby who was once dubbed “the worlds fattest teen” and feels that no-one has ever looked past her weight to find out who she really is and Jack who has Prosopagnosia (the inability to recognise faces) so tries not to get close to people because although he can rebuild anything he doesn’t understand the inner workings of his brain.


Music:

LaLaLand Soundtrack- After watching the movie a few weeks ago I just couldn’t get the songs out of my head so listened to the soundtrack on my way to uni and fell in love! Emma stone and Ryan Gosling have gorgeous voices which fit the songs perfectly and the soundtrack always makes me feel uplifted and happy whenever I listen to it πŸ™‚ I think my favourites are: City of Stars, A Lovely Night and Someone in the Crowd.

Let me know in the comments what you have been loving this month πŸ™‚

xxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

